A difference in education between New Zealand and Japan

I work at a childcare facility now. I play with children most of the time. It’s really interesting because I like children and they are so cute. They play outside most of the time. That’s good for children because they can move a lot. I was surprised because there is no time that children do the same thing at the same time except for “mat time”, which is when children and teachers sing songs and read picture books. That’s the New Zealand way. Education is cherished for fostering the individuality of children. On the contrary, everyone doing the same thing together is valued in Japan. I think the former is better than the latter for children. The Japanese way brings up adults who have no courage. They cannot do things which are different from what others do. It’s not good, so I like the New Zealand way. I really enjoy working there. However, the amount of time I speak English has decreased, so I try to keep talking to the children even though some of them ignore me. It’s a little bit funny.